How to create a Book cover for CreateSpace with Windows Paint and Microsoft word

By FebruaryFalls on December 3, 2013

Kindle Direct Publishing is the venue used to publish e-books and CreateSpace is the venue to publish the actual book. In the beginning I was going to use both venues, but I later decided to just publish the e-book, THE LEAD DANCER ALWAYS GETS FLOWERS.

I didn’t like the book designs CreateSpace had to offer, except one, which allowed you to put your own design onto the template. When it comes to anything creative and artistic, I like to work with raw materials, instead of buying a book cover design.

I have lots of colorful hair accessories, so I choose the ones I wanted for the book cover design. I placed the hair accessories onto a cement slab outside, and I took a few photos for the back of the book and a few photos of the front cover. I used my camcorder to take the photos.
I downloaded the photos to my laptop. I used Windows paint to type the blurb on the back cover, as well as the title and my name on the front cover:-

newcolorfulbookcover2012

I then uploaded the front and back covers to CreateSpace, but the resolution didn’t meet their guidelines. I posted a question about the resolution to the Createspace community and I was informed to download a free software called Irfanview. It took a lot of fiddling around, but I finally worked out the resolution and uploaded the covers to CreateSpace.

Kindle Direct Publishing only requires you to upload the front book cover, but the shape is not that appealing to me:-

upgradebookcover

Only release your best work to the world. Shortly after, I was glad when I came upon article on how to design a book cover in Microsoft Windows. I really wanted my book cover to look like an actual book, so this is what I had to do.

• Open up MS Word.
• Go to “File” “New” and then hit “Create” on the right side – you should have a blank
document
• Adjust the size to 6”x9”, so go to “Page Layout” and hit “Size.” Scroll down to “More
Paper Sizes” and type in 6” and then 9” in the relevant input boxes.

bookchart

We also don’t need the margins so big, so click again on “Page Layout”, select “Margins” and then set them to “Narrow” or .5” all around.
• Now insert the book cover that you designed i.e. when the picture is dropped in, it will
automatically stretch the margins

I wanted to “tweak” my book cover so I clicked on the photo and clicked “color.” NOW I have the book cover I want:-

smashwordskindlebookcover2013

THE LEAD DANCER ALWAYS GETS FLOWERS is available to download at Amazon worldwide:-
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00FYZ66IG – UK STORE
http://amzn.com/B00FYZ66IG – US STORE

Please leave a comment below. What software program did you use to create your book cover?

Leave a Reply

