You DO NOT have to give self-publishers a cut if you sell your book on your website

By FebruaryFalls on April 12th 2014

I wondered about this myself and it’s a great relief to know that I will benefit from sales. Also keep in mind that if your books are continuing to do well on self-publishing platforms, why rock the boat? But you can still do them both.

Also keep in mind that things change i.e. self-publishing platforms can suddenly be pulled from under us, so it’s important not to build a business on their backs. It’s best to be on several self-publishing platforms. My reason for only being with Amazon is because some only deal with one currency, and not all of them price match, which interferes with my marketing strategy. Don’t copy this strategy. Do what’s right for you.

Why sell direct?

It allows you to see the results of your work.

How to get started

1. Pick an e-commerce service provider
2. After you sign up, upload your files, cover, description and set your price.

There are many hosting sites.

I would like to hear from you. Are you selling your book direct from your website? Are you selling your book in conjunction with a self-publisher?

Please leave a comment in the box below.

wordpressfront
Available to buy world-wide in the Amazon kindle store: http://amzn.com/B00FYZ66IG

Published soon…

wordpress11

8 thoughts on “You DO NOT have to give self-publishers a cut if you sell your book on your website

  1. Great info, February! I’m using Lulu for my book but have been wanting to switch to Amazon or another platform. Lulu’s cut is a bit more and for a bit less return on book availability. However, having lots of photos poses a formatting issue with Amazon.

    • Hi Taiwanda – I know what you mean about formatting. On some platforms the formatting is okay and on others, PROMBLEMS!! I stayed away from Lulu, because I’ve heard nothing but bad things about them. Do you know about the ibookstore, Smashwords, Nook, Createspace – this is for the physical book, and Kobo? Smashwords only distribute books in the U.S, but they also distribute to the Apple store if you don’t have an Apple computer. If you have a Mac, its best to publish direct, as you’ll have access to more tools. Kobo is a Canadian company and they release royalties every 6 months. A lot of people like them. For now I’m staying with Amazon until I get more established then I’m joining Kobo and Apple.

      If you get with Amazon, make sure that they know you are a U.S. citizen living abroad, so they don’t tax your royalties. The same with Lulu.

      • Thanks for the great info, February! I know about Create-a-space and believe I bought a book from Smashwords over the summer. I haven’t heard of the Nook, Kobo or the ibookstore, though. I need to check all of these out. I want to republish my children’s book with a different publisher.

    • Taiwanda, who did your illustrations or did you do it yourself? If someone else did it, do you have to split the royalties? I ALSO love children’s books and I’ve written 4 or 5 different children book series for African American chilren. I didn’t publish it, as I heard you can’t make a lot of money selling children’s books, unless you ALSO do the illustrations. I’m not money hungry, but I want to make a certain amount, so I can do what I need to do. Are you going to write another book?

      • Hi February :-). Wow! You’ve written a lot of books! You should definitely get them published. I hope to write more children’s books, as I have a vision of having a series. I wrote another story this year for an application for an editing position which I thought of afterwards, that it could be developed into a book.

        I actually didn’t have illustrations for my book. Instead, I used photos to depict the story. I took those myself having my students, at the time, to act out the story scenes. However, if I do use some illustrations, I believe I’d have to split royalties unless we make an agreement where I pay them upfront once for their work.

        I have so many ideas for books, February. I just haven’t felt like I’ve had the time to really focus on developing them this year because of other things going on, but I’m starting to be more direct about making sure I don’t keep setting aside my passion just because other things are pulling at my time.

        If you need an illustrator, there’s a guy I went to school with that used to be an amazing artist!. He’s still doing his thing as a tattoo artist, but I’m sure he still has his drawing skills, too. I think he’d be reasonable with whatever he charges or if royalties is the route you want to go.

  2. Oh that’s WONDERFUL Taiwanda! Yes please give me your friend’s details – inbox me on facebook. I’d rather pay someone up front ONCE for their work. NOW I’m feeling more excited about writing children’s books again. I know what you mean about not having the time to write. I’m ALWAYS busy, so I have to force myself to make the time. I feel your passion is what your MEANT to do, so your doing the right thing by not setting your passion aside.

Leave a Reply

